Available on Google PlayApp Store

Onyomi versus Kunyomi???

From what I understand one is the more Chinese pronunciation and one is the traditional Japanese pronunciation. Is that right? Do I need to know both or is it okay to just focus on the Japanese pronunciation?

I'm a complete beginner so I'm just a bit frazzled...
(。・//ε//・。)
posted by DigitalBun

Comments 8

• pekoegal
    pekoegal
    Actually, you should learn both. Both pronunciations are used for kanji, though the "general rule" is that when it's a bunch of kanji together, you read it the Chinese way, and if it's a kanji followed by Japanese characters, you read it the Japanese way. (There are exceptions, of course). Unfortunately, you just have to muscle through it and try to learn all the common pronunciations and quirks.
  • DigitalBun
    DigitalBun
    Is it okay to focus on the pronunciations provided on the vocab page for now and go back to the other pronunciations as I get more versed? http://oi59.tinypic.com/30u5rh0.jpg In my notes I'm using the pronunciations outlined in red, is that an okay starting point?

I just have no idea how I can remember any words if I'm having to remember 10 pronunciations for each one (๑﹏ ๑;)
  • pekoegal
    pekoegal
    Yeah, get to know those common clusters first. The rest will make sense later as you get more exposure.
  • Dirk
    Dirk