Available on Google PlayApp Store

Newbie question about differences in Hiragana...

hi guys, i'm quite new at studying 日本語. can somebody shed some light on my doubts?

1. what's the difference in handwriting for hiragana of "RI" i saw 2 different version. one is like this り the other is somewhat a lot like い but closer and the left side is longer.

2. i've read a hiragana of "KI" which looks like this き but i've read another one that doesn't curve at the bottom. instead only a small curve line. is there any difference?

3. How would you distinguish a good japanese handwriting from a bad one?

4. i've read some books about the particle "わ" topic marker. sometimes, when i do practice reading some japanese websites, it uses を and not わ. Is there any difference?

lastly, how do you decide if you're going to use kanji or hiragana? since i'm quite fond of hiragana, (not yet studying katakana) is it possible not to use kanji? would it be a nuisance to read it? (i'm trying to memorize kanji but it seems that i'm quite slow on this one... i remember only these kanji... 一 二、日 森 木  and those sort of stuff... )

ありがとお。
posted by Raigoki

Comments 8

• zapsap
    zapsap
    I'm assuming that differences in the kana are similar to the differences in hiragana, katakana, and kanji. (Think lowercase/capitalized or cursive/print.) For #3, I'm sure that as long as the kana/kanji is written in its exact form, it should be legible. It is probably quite similar to to the quality of penmanship in English. To answer your last question, since hiragana is simple, it would likely be acceptable. Using hiragana, katakana, and kanji together just simplifies whatever is being read/written. It is not required, but commonly preferred by matured, native Japanese speakers.
    がんばって!
  • Mica
    Mica
    1 & 2) The difference may be that 'Ri' り is in Hiragana while リ is in Katakana, Same with 'Ki' : き (Hiragana) & キ [Katakana]