Available on Google PlayApp Store

how to use kanji in japanese writing (hiragana)

Hello everyone I am a beginner and I need help with the kanji ... I do not understand how to use the kanji in the Hiragana ...
I'll explain ... in a sentence like 犬 は 台所 に いる (the dog is in the kitchen) there are 3 kanji : 犬 meaning dog, 台 which means stand, pedestal, table and 所 which means place.
how do I associate them with the hiragana and how do they change in meaning in "the dog is in the kitchen"? please help ..

ask me more if you don't understand my problem
posted by alefinal

Comments 11

• Peacherine
    Peacherine
    Hi! I think I understand what you're asking. I'll actually answer more about when to use hiragana though. But let me change your sentence a little to better explain my answer.

白い 犬 は 台所 に いる。 (The white dog is in the kitchen.)

Hiragana is used for a few different main reasons.

1. As okurigana- like the い in 白い. They're still part of that word, but they're the part that changes when you conjugate the word. For example, you can form 白くない (isn't white), 白かった (was white), or 白くなかった (wasn't white) just by changing the い to other things. That way, the root kanji part never changes its spelling or meaning, but you can still conjugate the word. Okurigana is used on nouns, adjectives, and verbs since they all can conjugate.

2. As particles- like the は and に in the example sentence. Particles are a much larger topic than this question, so I won't say much. But basically they mark the word before them, showing what grammatical part the word has in the rest of the sentence. For example, は tells us that 白い犬 is the topic of the sentence.

3. For words that don't have kanji, or when the kanji isn't usually used- like いる. Many words are written just in hiragana/katakana (like onomatopoeia words, for example). Children's books or other things written for beginners often use mostly hiragana and almost no kanji because they assume you haven't learned many kanji yet.