Available on Google PlayApp Store

Handwriting Question

Hello! I'm fairly new to this whole forum thing, but I'm a little confused about handwriting.

For most of my off-and-on studying, I've been copying and practicing Kanji based on the keyboard font. Is this alright? Honestly so long as my handwriting's legible I'm not too picky, but I've heard that you shouldn't do that and should instead learn the handwritten-style font. Does it really matter? If it does, are there any good sources for me to start making my handwriting look more natural?
posted by Cinnatoast

Comments 6

• armerala
    armerala
    It doesn't seem like such a big deal, especially if you were raised using the roman alphabet, but you really should be learning how to write them properly. Each of the lines should be drawn in the right direction and in the right order. Stroke order matters a lot more in Japanese than it does for the roman alphabet.

There's a lot of threads about this online, a quick search for "importance of stroke order in Japanese" will yield more than enough results, but I'll just summarize them.

Here's a short excerpt from Tae Kim's grammar guide:

"the important thing to remember is that the stroke order and direction of the strokes matter. There, I underlined, italicized, bolded, and highlighted it to boot. Trust me, you’ll eventually find out why when you read other people’s hasty notes that are nothing more than chicken scrawls. The only thing that will help you is that everybody writes in the same order and so the “flow” of the characters is fairly consistent."

So, in general, if you're writing with improper stroke order, you're forced to write very slowly to maintain legibility for most people, which isn't efficient. And, at worst, especially when you write more complex kanji, the character can become straight-up illegible if you use the wrong stroke order.