Available on Google PlayApp Store

I just need some piece of advice and some friends?

Hi guys~
I just started learning Japanese like 2 weeks ago..
and i can read/write hiragana and katakana pretty fast now...
Then i started learning some Kanjis and im following Heigs RTK method using mnemonics... I'm learning pretty fast like 25 Kanjis a day on my Anki but while practicing here.. i just noticed that im doing it the wrong way.. I end up recognizing the Kanji and knowing ONLY its meaning but i still cant read it.. and when im ask for on-yomi/kun-yomi reading, ill end up finding it on a dictionary lol..

So my question is how should i learn Kanji? or should i master vocabulary since i'll still learn Kanji through them? or should i start with phrases? or with grammar? or should i just continue my learning with mnemonics?
what is the best step-up from learning Kana?

I'm really looking for a more efficient way to learn japanese..
I hope u guys could help me~

also I'm looking for some friends where we could share each others progress, resources, methods and also to practice our japanese...
Feel free to shoot me some email ([email protected]) so we could learn together..
Thanks ^^

PS: Sorry for my bad english... I hope i explained myself properly lol xD
posted by meeka

Comments 5

• mog86uk
    mog86uk
    I'd say you're doing it the sensible way already, focusing on learning the meanings not the readings when learning kanji. When would someone ask you what the on/kun reading of a kanji is?

When you learn new vocabulary, the main thing you need to do is just match the word's sound to its meaning, but also pay attention to the kanji used in the words. When you have learned a lot of Japanese words, your mind should start picking up readings of kanji and automatically work out whether it's on/kun, so long as you understand some of the basic rules of onyomi vs kunyomi.
    http://lingwiki.com/index.php?title=On_vs._Kun_readings