Available on Google PlayApp Store

Studying methods

Hey guys,
I though it might be nice to pool our resources and share our favorite methods of studying. I think that a whole lot can be said about this topic, but I'd like this thread to be concise so I'm going to ask contributors to follow this one simple rule:
I'd like you to share your reason for studying Japanese (または日本人の方なら、英語の勉強仕方), followed by your top 3 favorite ways of studying. That's it! I'll start it off.

I'm studying to be a full-time translator/interpreter and to share experiences with people born on the other side of the planet.

I like to study by:
3. listening to conversations on Japanese radio
2. reading novels (the blank margin around the text makes for a good note pad)
1. conversating with Japanese people

Looking forward to your answers :)
posted by TheHardSix

Comments 11

• freakymrq
    freakymrq
    I really don't have a concrete reason of studying Japanese besides the fact that I'd like to go through manga and anime through its original format and that I'd like to visit/live in Japan one day.

Favorite studying:
    1. Japanese music (Cd's, japanese radio, youtube, etc.)
    2. Typing in Japanese (whether on line, lang-8, skype, forums etc.)
    3. I have a japanese light novel that I've been trying to decipher ;)
  • Sloppyninja
    Sloppyninja
    I want to be an english teacher in japan some day, and I just love japanese culture.

I like to study by:
    3. things like this website, anki, flash cards, phone apps with quick questions

2. Just sitting back and listening to japanese drama/anime

1. speaking with my friends in japanese (unfortunately I have no friends who are at my level of japanese because they take it as a class, whereas I just study for the fun of it, so we know completely different sets of things.)
  • DomoTenno
    DomoTenno